Latest book reviews››
How the Cockroach, after having died, Entered the Gates of Heaven by V. Campudoni
Follow satire/parable
Published Amazon Digital
published 2012

How the Cockroach, after having died, Entered the Gates of Heaven by V. Campudoni

Site Score
6.0
User Score
8.0
(2 votes)
Click to vote
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 8.0/10 (2 votes cast)

Book Description

Can a cockroach enter into Heaven? Will Saint Peter allow it? In the tradition of Psalms, Socrates, Solomon, and Seuss, “On how the Cockroach…” tackles the canons of our catechisms, the perceptions of our realities, the emblems around our necks, and, perhaps, the dark recesses of our prejudices. An illustrated dialogue.

Book Review

I was intrigued by the title and delighted with the story. The cockroach wishing to enter heaven prompts a complex discussion with St. Peter, who is refusing him entry for numerous reasons.

On the surface this is a jokey light-hearted tale, but on another level it illustrates the absurdity of rules and regulations in organised religion.

The writing is flawless, the illustrations are wonderfully understated, and there is a very satisfactory ending. I would recommend this as a delightful quick read.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 8.0/10 (2 votes cast)
How the Cockroach, after having died, Entered the Gates of Heaven by V. Campudoni, 8.0 out of 10 based on 2 ratings

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Rate This Item

CommentLuv badge